NWO Rubicon Postdoctoral Fellowships 2010, Netherlands

NWO Rubicon Postdoctoral Fellowships 2010, Netherlands

About NWO:
The NWO Organization comprises several units. Eight Divisions for Sciences develop new research programmes, assess subsidy requests and monitor projects that NWO finances. This also applies to the NWO Foundation WOTRO, though its focus lies with research in aid of developing countries. For the use of large scale research facilities NWO often operates as an intermediary. In 1990 the Netherlands National Computing Facilities Foundation, a.k.a. NCF, was founded to mediate for computing power. To meet new trends in science and society, NWO has also set up various Temporary Task Forces. These task forces are aimed at speeding up the development of promising technologies. Furthermore, NWO encompasses nine Research Institutes with years of research expertise and hightech large scale instruments for research into earth’s oceans, outer space, man, society, nature, technology, the smallest building blocks, and the bedrock principles of science.

The aim of the Rubicon programme is to encourage talented researchers at Dutch universities and research institutes run by KNAW and NWO to dedicate themselves to a career in postdoctoral research. Rubicon offers researchers who have completed their doctorates in the past year the chance to gain experience at a top research institution outside the Netherlands (maximum of two years). The Rubicon programme also offers talented researchers from abroad the opportunity to obtain grants to spend a maximum of two years in the Netherlands to conduct research.

1. Postgraduates who are currently engaged in doctoral research or who have been awarded a doctorate in the twelve months preceding the relevant deadline. Applicants who are still engaged in doctoral research may only apply if their supervisor provides a written declaration approving their thesis.
2. Women especially are urged to apply.
3. Researchers from abroad may apply

Application Procedure:
A period of up to two years at an institution outside the Netherlands or at a Dutch institution. The minimum duration is twelve months. Standard awards have been set both for periods spent abroad and for periods spent in the Netherlands.

Extra Information:
In order to promote mobility among researchers, applications will be admissible only if the candidate is to conduct the research at an institution other than the one where he or she graduated or that awarded his or her doctorate. The research must also be conducted in a country other than the one where the applicant graduated or obtained the doctorate, unless that country is the Netherlands. It is not allowed to combine research at different institutes. Depending on the nature of the project, applicants may conduct field research. Candidates may apply for a Rubicon grant only once. An application will be deemed to have been made if the application has been accepted for consideration by NWO. Past recipients of Talent grants will not be eligible for consideration under the Rubicon programme. Applications must be submitted by individual researchers and not by pairs or teams of researchers. Application must be submitted via NWO’s electronic submission system Iris.

Deadline: Closing date for submitting applications is 1 September 2010. There are three selection rounds a year for Rubicon grants.

Selection Criteria:
Proposals will be assessed on the basis of quality criteria (as listed in the brochure which can be downloaded from this website) and certain policy criteria.

* Multidisciplinary advisory committees will assess the applications.
* The views of external referees will not be sought.
* The final award decisions will be made by the boards of the relevant divisions/foundation.
* The entire assessment procedure will take approximately 4 months.

Three multidisciplinary advisory committees will be appointed by NWO:
* the Social Sciences (MaGW) and Humanities (GW) divisions will appoint a single advisory committee for the alpha and gamma cluster;
* the Earth and Life Sciences (ALW) and Medical Sciences (ZonMw) divisions will appoint a single advisory committee for the life sciences cluster;
* and the Physical Sciences (EW), Chemical Sciences (CW) and Physics (N) divisions and the Technology Foundation (STW) will appoint a single advisory committee for the beta cluster.

P/O Box 93138 – NL2509 AC Den Haag
phone +31 (0)70 344 06 40 – fax +31 (0)70 385 09 71


0 commentaires:

Copyright - 2009 Scholarship-position : PhD, Postdoctoral, Graduate College, Postgraduate, Master , Financial Aid, Fellowships, Undergraduate Scholarships