[Europe] The European Doctoral in Law and Economics: Erasmus Mundus Scholarship 2010

The European Doctorate in Law and Economics (EDLE) is a joint international doctoral programme of three European universities with outstanding expertise in the field of Law and Economics:
  • Bologna University, Italy
  • Rotterdam University, Netherlands
  • Hamburg University, Germany
The European Doctorate in Law and Economics offers the unique opportunity to study Law and Economics on a phd-level in three different countries. Research topics of the EDLE are chosen within the general theme of ‘Tensions between efficiency and other goals of general interest’. The programme prepares both, economists and lawyers, for an academic career in a research field of growing importance.
Scholarships and Admission
Who Can Apply?
Admission to the programme is open to applicants with a diploma or a bachelor and master degree in law or economics, or a comparable university degree (second cycle qualification) required by the partner universities for admission to doctoral studies.
EDLE is a structured programme in the economic analysis of law on a doctoral level. Therefore, a thorough previous knowledge in the field of law and economics is required, as well as basic knowledge of microeconomics and calculus. If you lack specific knowledge on the economic analysis of law, you should consider applying for the EMLE programme, where this knowledge can be acquired
For the academic year 2010-2011, 16 scholarships are available:
  • 10 scholarships are provided by the European Commission under the Erasmus Mundus scheme (6 for Category A and 4 for Category B),
  • 6 by the partner universities (University of Bologna, Hamburg Institute of Law and Economics, Rotterdam Institute of Law and Economics).
Mundus Category A scholarships are reserved to applicants who: i) do not come from an “EU-area” country (EU Member States, Iceland, Norway and Lichtenstein, Turkey, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Switzerland); and ii) are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, work, etc.) for a period equal or longer than a total of 12 months over the last five years in “EU-area” countries. This rule does not apply to non “EU-area” candidates who have previously received an Erasmus Mundus scholarship in order to follow an Erasmus Mundus Master Programme.
Mundus Category B scholarships are reserved to applicants who do not fulfil the Category A criteria defined above.
Mundus scholarships provide a gross income of Euro 33,600 per year, for 3 years. This roughly amounts to a net income of Euro 1600 per month.
On top of the monthly salary, Mundus scholars benefit from a fixed contribution to the travel, installation and any other types of costs for a maximum of Euro 7500 (Cat. A) or Euro 3000 (Cat B.).
Beneficiaries of Mundus scholarships will enter a full-time employment contract with the University of Bologna. Individuals who have already benefited from an Mundus doctoral scholarship are not eligible for a second grant. Mundus scholars cannot benefit from other Community grants while carrying out their doctoral activities.
The scholarships offered by the Erasmus University of Rotterdam provide a gross income of approx. €25,000 per year, for 4 years (net income of about Euro 1400 per month); those offered by the University of Bologna approx. € 13.638,47 (gross) per year for 3 years (net income of about € 1038,61), with an additional 50% increase for the periods of research spent abroad (up to 18 months total). The scholarships offered by the University of Hamburg amounts to approx. €13,200 per year for 3 years (net monthly amount € 930 after insurance deduction).
Scholarships of the different types will be awarded according to merit.
Tuition Fees
For the Academic Year 2010/2011 tuition fees amount to Euro 3,600 per year. The scholarships listed above also cover the tuition fees.
Applications are submitted online and must include the following documents:
1) CV with information on academic, professional and other education (Europass model),
2) official transcripts of previous degrees (in English),
3) two reference letters,
4) a letter of motivation with a prospective research proposal and,
5) a certificate of English proficiency (FCE, CAE, CPE, BEC, British Chamber of Commerce, Trinity College, TOEFL, IELTS) in case the applicant’s native language is not English. Applicants who have attended, for a period of at least 6 months, to university courses held in English do not need to submit the certificate,
6) academic work, if available (at most two papers),
7) copy of valid ID.
The deadline for applications is:
  • 31 December 2009 for Mundus Category A Scholarships
  • 30 April 2010 for all other applicants.
Applications can only be submitted online from 2 November, 2009 to 31 December 2009 (Mundus Category A), and from 1st March 2010 to 30 April 2010 (all others).
Applicants will be selected on the basis of their academic merit and their capability of carrying out high-level scientific research activity in the field of the economic analysis of law, and in compliance with Mundus regulations. Good knowledge of English is a prerequisite.
In order to acquire additional information, the Selection Commission may interview short-listed applicants. The consortium follows a non-discrimination admission policy.
Mundus Category A applicants who fail to obtain the Mundus scholarships will be considered for the other scholarships offered by the consortium. Thus, Non EU-Area citizens do not need to submit their application twice.
For furthr details please open the following link:

0 commentaires:

Copyright - 2009 Scholarship-position : PhD, Postdoctoral, Graduate College, Postgraduate, Master , Financial Aid, Fellowships, Undergraduate Scholarships